Forum »
I need console controllers

Roland

Starman Jr.
Well.....im fairly new to the whole emulator thing, and i find it incredibley hard to play using a keyboard. I need controllers. Burke told me the only way to get them is to make them and well....i couldnt do that, i'd just blow myself up. If anyone has any suggestions please let me know. And if i do have to buy them...i'm looking for something local. I have no credit card or paypal account so no e-bay or on-line purchasing.
Gimme a fucking smoke hair-doo - Bubbles

milocat51

Starman Super
Well you can buy adapters, but unfortunately you won't find that kind of thing around here. Online is really your only bet for that sort of thing.

But, there are alternatives. Gravis gamepads are very similar to console pads, and are usually pretty cheap. I'm currently using a cheap USB gamepad I picked up called The Thrustmaster (chuckle).

One thing to keep in mind, avoid gamepads with analog inputs. Many emulators don't behave well with these. Ideally, get something digital, or failing that at least a very very firm analog stick. And, uh, best of luck.
I'm no hero. Never was, never will be. I'm just an old killer, hired to do some wet work.

sevex

Starman DX
See if Amelia still has Joey's Playstation to USB adapter, then you can use a Playstation controller.
"Hey, you! If you meet a beautiful, seductive woman who's looking for me, tell her 'hi.' Anyway, I don't think a woman like that would be looking for me." -Guy in Fourside Hotel

milocat51

Starman Super
RADIOSHACK IN WATERFRONT MALL HAS GAMECUBE TO PC AND PS2 TO PC USB CONVERTERS IN STOCK NOW.

I just bought the cube converters and it works. Everything works, right down to the analog on the triggers. I haven't tested it with emulators, but it's performing flawlessly in the properties panel.